Make your own free website on

This is a brief history of Scouting in Jamaica


The Boy Scout Association of Jamaica had three Island Commissioners:

1932 - Noel Crosswell

1940 - Mr. H.D. Tucker

1949 - Mr. D.S. A. Fitz-Ritson

While Mr. Fitz-Ritson was in office the title "Island Commissioner" was changed to "Chief Commissioner" and since then there have been five Chief Commissioners:

1979 - Mr. James Lloyd

1979 - Brigadier Dunstan Robinson

1986 - Mr. Vincent Rose

1994 - Mr. Richard Chambers

1998 - Dr Edward Lee

How Scouting Came to Jamaica

Back To Home Page